Gingersnaps (Historic Recipe from Hannah Glasse, 1776)

Gingersnaps (Historic Recipe from Hannah Glasse, 1776)

1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed

¾ cup butter

2 tablespoons molasses

1 egg

2 ½ cups flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

¼ teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon ground ginger

½ teaspoon ground cloves

Granulated sugar

Preheat oven to 375

Mix the brown sugar, butter, molasses and egg together.

Stir in the flour, baking soda, salt and spices.  Shape the dough into balls, the size of egg yolks.  Roll the balls in granulated sugar.  Place about 3 inches apart on a cookie sheet.  Bake for ten minutes.

016 012

I LOVE these cookies and anyone I have ever given them to loves them.  BEST gingersnaps I have ever had. I doubled the batch and baked 1 1/2 dz today and then froze 2 dz unbaked to have for later.

One response to “Gingersnaps (Historic Recipe from Hannah Glasse, 1776)

  1. I made a few of these cookies yesterday from the freezer. They held up really well to being frozen as raw dough and they baked up just great! I thawed them first but I think I could bake straight from the freezer too.

Leave a Reply

