Grands Unsloppy Joes (Pillsbury Recipe)

Ingredients

1    lb lean (at least 80%) ground beef, cooked, drained

1        can (15 oz) sloppy joe sauce

1  teaspoon chili powder

1 can (16.3 oz) Pillsbury® Grands!® refrigerated biscuits

½ cup shredded cheddar cheese (2 oz)

  • 1.  Heat oven to 375° F. In large skillet, cook ground beef over medium-high heat until beef is thoroughly cooked, stirring frequently; drain. Stir in sauce and chili powder; simmer 5 minutes.
  • 2.  Press each biscuit into 6-inch round. Spoon 1/3 cup meat mixture and about 1 tablespoon cheese onto center of each round. Fold dough in half over filling; press to seal. Place on ungreased cookie sheet.
  • 3.  Bake 9 to 14 minutes or until golden brown.

047-001 039-001 036-001 028-001 023-001 020-001 018-001 014-001 012-001

My notes:  I used already made leftover Sloppy Joe hamburger mixture that I had already made for dinner last night.  We use the McCormick Sloppy Joe mix.  We already had a can of grands and some shredded cheese on hand already and I saw the commerical on tv for this recipe so I thought why not try it.  I found that to use the biscuits straight out of the can you really couldn’t get any amount of filling in there, so I used my small rolling pin and rolled them out out a little bit and that worked great.

Edited to add:  I was just thinking and wondering how these would freeze.  Next time I do this I am going to make a few and try freezing them before baking.  If it works out well that would be soooo handy to just pull out a couple to have with home made soup or a salad for dinner.  I make soup from scratch and freeze it on a regular basis.

2 responses to “Grands Unsloppy Joes (Pillsbury Recipe)

  1. These look yummy! I’ve done something similar using canned chicken corn chowder. I’m thinking they’ll freeze well, too. By the way, I love your little rolling pin!

    • I like your idea! I am going to try freezing next time I make these…will let you know what happens. that little rolling pin also has another smaller one on the other side…Pampered Chef…LOVE it.

Leave a Reply

