Corned Beef and Cabbage with Boiled Potatoes (like my mom used to make)

Amounts and cooking times will vary according to what you have on hand and your stove.

1 corned beef (today I had a 3 1/2 pound corned beef)

pickling spice (today I used about 1/2 tsp)

potatoes and cabbage appropriate for the number of people you will be serving.  I make extra to use in a family recipe for a type of leftovers hash.  I’ll be making and writing that one up tomorrow along with a recipe for Reuben sandwiches,  Both will come from these leftovers.

Boil the corned beef and pickling spice on a gentle boil/simmer for 3-4 hours.  Tonight I went for about 3 1/2 hours.

Peel the potatoes and cut the cabbage into wedges, removing the core.  Place each in their own pot and boil until cooked (about 45 minutes for tonight’s dinner…time will vary depending on the size of the potatoes and cabbage).

Slice the corned beef, drain the cabbage and potatoes.  Serve with butter, salt and pepper.033-001 031-001 030-001 029-001 021-001 017-001 014-001 005-001 003-001 002-001

2 responses to “Corned Beef and Cabbage with Boiled Potatoes (like my mom used to make)

  1. My “like” is for the potatoes and cabbage, since I have a serious dislike for corned beef! Heck, I could make a meal just on your veggies–yum!

Leave a Reply

