Maureen’s Black Forest Brownie Experiment

I was watching a cooking show the other day where they swirled heated raspberry jam into a a boxed brownie mix and it got me to thinking.  I wondered what would happen if I added cherry pie filling and tried to make a Black Forest type of brownie.  It didn’t come out bad.  Here is my idea:

1 box store bought brownie mix plus ingredients to make them (eggs, water, oil)

1 can cherry pie filling

Steps:

1. Make up brownie mix according to package instructions.

2. Prepare your baking dish (either butter and flour or wipe with oil). I used a small round deep dish stoneware Pampered Chef baking dish.

3. Pour half of the brownie batter into your baking dish.

4. Pour  the cherry pie filling over the brownie batter.

5. Pour the rest of the batter over the cherry pie filling.

6.  Bake until done.  I am still experimenting on this part.  I had no guideline for this since this is something I was kind of winging.  I checked the brownies after a half hour and they needed more time(toothpick method).  I let them go another 20 minutes and checked again.  I thought they needed more time, Dean thought they were done.  So we took them out.  The could have used more time because the very center wasn’t as done as I would like it.

My thoughts: Next time I will listen to my own instincts and bake until a toothpick comes out clean.  So be mindful that you will have to keep checking until you figure out what works for your oven and cookware.  These are actually really tasty.  Dean and I were also thinking that they might come out good if we used muffin tins and made individual ones.  We will try this again and keep tweaking until we get it.  Once we get it I will post an update here.

037-001 035-001 034-001 008-001 007-001 006-001 005-001 003-001 001-001

2 responses to “Maureen’s Black Forest Brownie Experiment

  1. I like this idea! Hmm, my thinking cap popped on my head all by itself. Since you used the family size brownie mix, maybe you could try it in a 9 X 13 pan next time–it would make the batter not be as high, so it would cook in the middle quicker. The other thought I had was–using the dish that you used–maybe baking that first layer for about 5 minutes before adding the other layers. But I can’t tell from the photo if the whole middle was a bit undercooked or just one of the layers. Just a few thoughts that came to mind!

    I love coming up with my own recipes and experimenting–don’t you?!

    • I do too. The odd part is that it was the center of the top layer that was under done. If I had used the 9×13 I wouldn’t have had enough batter to cover the bottom well I don’t think.

Leave a Reply

