Maureen’s Bruschetta

After having bruschetta in many different restaurants I made up my own variation.  The amounts of the ingredients vary every time, according to what I have on hand.  You can tweak this to your own tastes.  Sometimes I add garlic to this but when I am making it to serve over bread to have with grilled steak I prefer no garlic  and just have that nice fresh tomato flavor. This is a warm weather staple for us. Great when you are grilling steak.

 

Tomatoes, diced (whatever variety looks good at the store, today I used vine ripened)

Scallions, sliced

Fresh basil leaves, diced

Salt

Pepper

Olive Oil

A block of part skim mozzarella cheese, cut into small cubes (I don’t always use the whole block, it depends on how many tomatoes I have)

A loaf of nice crusty bread (I love semolina sesame but they didn’t have any at the store today, so I went with a peasant bread)

 

1. Combine diced tomatoes, mozzarella cubes, sliced scallions, diced basil leaves, salt, pepper, olive oil in a bowl.  Toss to coat everything with oil.  Taste and adjust seasoning if necessary.

2. Cut bread into slices.  Lay slices out on a baking sheet.  Brush slices with olive oil (both sides).  Broil bread slices until browned, then turn and brown the other side.  Sometimes we grill them instead of broiling.  Sometimes we also cut a garlic clove open and rub on the toasted bread.

3.  Serve a slice of the bread topped with a generous amount of the bruschetta mixture.

 

016-001 003-001 004-001 005-001 006-001 007-001 008-001 009-001 012-001 014-001

 

 

4 responses to “Maureen’s Bruschetta

  1. We love bruschetta, but I’ve never used mozzarella cheese in it, only parmesan. I’ll have to try this one soon–but after vacation!

  2. Today I made this but also added a few shavings from a block of parmesan cheese and drizzled with balsamic reduction glaze. It was really yummy this way!

  3. Pingback: Maureen’s Bruschetta Pasta Salad | Maureen's Adventures In Cooking·

Leave a Reply

