Maureen’s Egg and Crescent Cups

I have seen many different versions of breakfast cups made in muffin tins.  Today I decided to try making my own version.  The idea came about today because I had a bunch of items on hand that were partially left over from other recipes or were needing to be used before going bad.  So I made these for us to have for lunch and then I plan on freezing what is left for times when we need a fast breakfast. Granted we don’t eat eggs or crescent rolls on a regular basis, but these would be nice once in a while.  They’d be great as a brunch item. Ingredients and amounts can easily vary depending on  your tastes and what you have on hand. Here is what I did today:

 

Preheat oven to 375

 

1 can crescent rolls (8 rolls)

8 eggs (I figured one for each roll but I think I could have easily gotten away with 6)

Milk

Shredded cheddar cheese

Chopped scallions

Chopped red pepper

Chopped deli ham

 

1. I combined all of the ingredients but the crescent rolls in one bowl and whisked until well combined, then set aside.

2. I cut the crescent rolls into pieces and pieced together into the muffin cups.  I did not spray them because the crescent rolls generally don’t stick to my stoneware.

3. I filled each crescent cup with egg mixture.  I had a lot left over so I sprayed the remaining muffin tin spaces with cooking spray and then I split the remaining egg mixture between those spaces.  I figured I could try and see how it would work that way too (thinking that if this works out well then I can freeze little egg muffins and then use them later on to make breakfast sandwiches on an English muffin).

4. I baked at 375 for 15-20 minutes.  I kept checking frequently to see if a toothpick inserted into the center came out clean.  I lost track of my actual cooking time but it was somewhere between 15 and 20 minutes.

 

103-001 105-001 069-001 071-001 072-001 075-001 076-001 078-001 079-001 082-001 083-001 084-001 092-001 099-001

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

