Strawberry Shortcake (Bisquick Recipe)

We find that the store bought shortcake shells are just way too sweet, and we really just plain don’t like the taste of them.   My mother always put strawberries over biscuits but for me they were not sweet enough.  A couple of years back I noticed a shortcake recipe on the bisquick box.  It is a slightly sweet, buttery version of their biscuit. I really like it and have ideas for bumping up or changing up the flavor as well. I may try finely chopping some strawberries and adding them to the biscuit mixture.  I also thought that adding either lemon zest or orange zest or any combination of strawberries and zest might really bump up the flavor for this shortcake.  When I try it I’ll report back and let you know what we thought.  I do plan on trying one of those variations next time we do this.

Strawberry Mixture:

4 Cups fresh strawberries, hulled and sliced (I use a mushroom slicer to get uniform slices)

1/2 cup sugar

Mix together and set in fridge to marinate. I do not like this to be really sweet so I always use just a couple of tablespoons of sugar in my berries.

 

Biscuits:

2 1/3 Cups Bisquick

2/3 Cup milk

3 tablespoons sugar

3 tablespoons melted butter

 

1. Mix all ingredients together until soft dough forms.

2.  Drop by spoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet (I use stoneware). Make 6 biscuits with this recipe.

3.  Bake 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.

 

Assemble shortcakes by cutting open biscuits, topping with strawberries and some of the juice, then top off with whipped cream.  Enjoy!

 

033-002 002-001 003-001 004-001 005-001 006-001 007-001 009-001 011-001 012-001 013-001 015-001 017-001 019-001 020-001 023-001 035-001

 

Update:  I made this yesterday and decided to try dicing up some strawberries and adding to the batter for the biscuits.  It was REALLY good.  The only thing is I had to add a little more bisquick mix to balance out the liquid from the diced berries.  I just eyeballed it.  I plan on trying this with other fruits as well.  It really was a nice additon to the strawberry shortcake.  Here is a picture of the strawberry biscuits:

10426515_10203457805778761_581961601_o

4 responses to “Strawberry Shortcake (Bisquick Recipe)

  1. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.
    I will make certain to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back very soon.
    I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great writing, have a nice evening!

  2. Thanks so much! I am so glad you are enjoying it. I plan to keep writing every time I try a new recipe or make an old one that I haven’t posted here yet. I just wanted a place to put all of my recipes and this seemed logical….others can benefit too 🙂

  3. When someone writes an paragraph he/she maintains the
    plan of a user in his/her mind that how a user can understand it.

    Therefore that’s why this post is amazing. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

