Chocolate Raspberry Bars with White Chocolate and Almonds

112-002 061-001 063-001 064-001 065-001 066-001 068-001 069-001 070-001 072-001 074-001 076-001 078-001 081-001 084-001 089-001 090-001 095-001 098-001 101-001 103-001 104-001 105-001 106-001 109-001

I had seen Giada make this on one of her shows last spring.  I liked the idea of it but hubby is allergic to tree nuts.  I decided to try making this and substituting chopped peanuts (hubby can eat those) for the almonds.  My white chocolate didn’t melt as well as hers did and so it isn’t as pretty as the ones she made.  I think I will make these again but I will get some of those candy melts that you can get in the craft store to use with chocolate molds.  That will melt and drizzle well and will look a lot nicer.  Anxious to see how these go over when hubby gets home!  I really like them. I did find that it took WAY longer to bake at 325 than the recipe says.  I lost track of time but it was closer to 50 minutes or so.  These will pack well I think too, so good for a picnic or a road trip.

Also note:  we get bulk brownie mix at BJ’s and it comes 4 batches to a box.  I had some handy that we bought last winter and I want to use up, so I decided to try this out today.

Chocolate Raspberry Bars with White Chocolate and Almonds

Recipe courtesy Giada De Laurentiis, 2008

Prep Time:
5 min
Inactive Prep Time:

Cook Time:
30 min

Level:
Easy

Serves:
16 bars

Ingredients

2/3 cup raspberry jam
1 (21-ounce) box brownie mix (recommended: Duncan Hines Chewy Fudge)
3 eggs
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup water
3/4 cup white chocolate chips, melted
1/2 cup chopped salted almonds

Directions

Position a baking rack in the center of the oven. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Butter and flour a 9 by 13-inch baking pan.

In a small saucepan, stir the jam constantly over low heat until pourable, about 1 minute. Set aside.

In a large bowl, blend together the brownie mix, eggs, vegetable oil, and water. Using an electric hand mixer beat for 1 minute on medium speed. Pour the batter into the prepared pan. Spoon the jam over the top of the brownie batter. Using a small spatula, swirl jam into the brownie batter. Bake for 27 to 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted about 1-inch from the edge of the pan comes out clean. Spread with the melted chocolate and sprinkle with salted almonds. Transfer the pan to a wire rack to cool.

Cut into 16 bars and store airtight in a plastic container for up to 1 week.

4 responses to “Chocolate Raspberry Bars with White Chocolate and Almonds

  1. This looks quick and easy–I need to try this in a couple of months, when it cools off enough to use my oven! Thanks for the recipe!

    • They are really a really easy way to get a more gourmet result. I am wondering how well they would freeze…going to try it and see. The hardest part of making any dessert recipe is that when there are just two of you to feed you have way too much laying around and either we wind up throwing some out because we are tired of it or we eat more of it than we should so it doesn’t go to waste. I think this would freeze well.

  2. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve visited your blog before but after looking at some of the posts I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m certainly delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!|

Leave a Reply

