Maureen’s Turkey Soup

I made this on the day after Thanksgiving and am just now getting around to posting it.  This recipe is very much based on whatever you have leftover from Thanksgiving or have around the house. Amounts are not exact at all, just use what you have.  There really is no wrong way to do it.  I grew up watching my grandmother and my mother do this and this is my version of what they did.

Leftover turkey bones with some meat still on them

Carrots

Celery

Onions (I use large sweet onions)

Water to cover

Cooked rice

1.  Place turkey bones and meat with skin on in stock pot.

2.  Peel carrots and cut in half, then add to pot.

3.  Wash celery and trim, add to pot.

4. Peel onions, cut in half if they are large, otherwise leave whole and add to pot.

5.  Add enough water to pot to cover everything.

6. Simmer for 2 hours or so.

7. Remove from heat and strain broth to get bones and other items out.

8.  Pick meat from bones and add to broth.

9.  Dice up onions, carrots and celery that you simmered with the bones and add back to broth. Here I also add some mashed turnip if I have any left.  This year I didn’t so you won’t see it in the photos.

10.  Add cooked rice.  I use a lot of rice because I like my soup to be more stew-like.

11. Serve with crackers.

I always leave out salt and pepper and let people season their own because when I roast the turkey there is a lot of salt and pepper on the skin.  SOme of that seasoning makes it into the broth when I boil off the bones and meat because I leave the skin on.

This soup freezes really well.

IMG_6002-001 IMG_5976-001 IMG_5977-001 IMG_5979 IMG_5981-001 IMG_5982-001 IMG_5984-001 IMG_5985-001 IMG_5986-001 IMG_5998-001 IMG_5999-001 IMG_6001-001 IMG_6005-001

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

