Maureen’s Mexican Lasagne

While making several different kinds of lasagne to stock my freezer I got to wondering what would happen if I made one with a Mexican twist. I thought about using tortillas instead of noodles but was afraid they would not do well in the freezer so I kept the regular lasagne noodles and just changed out the rest of the ingredients.  Hubby really liked this and a friend has made it for her family and she said it was a hit. I made several of these in foil loaf pans and also made a tiny one to bake off and taste.  My freezer is stocked well with many lasagne varieties now.

Cooked lasagne noodles

1 can drained whole kernel corn

1 can drained and rinsed black beans

2 jars of your favorite salsa

1 pound taco meat (ground beef cooked with a packet of taco seasoning according to packet directions)

1 large package shredded cheddar

1 large package shredded colby jack cheese (you can use the spicey variety if that is what you like)

Cook the taco meat and set aside.

I made myself a little assembly line and that was helpful. Assemble in layers: salsa, lasagne noodle, meat, corn, black beans, both cheeses, salsa and then repeat.  Use the amount that looks right to you in each layer.  End with a noodle, salsa and then cheese on top.  I love black olives but hubby doesn’t, if I were making this for just me I would add those as well,  You could add jalepenos if you like those, really I think any Mexican ingredient would work.  I served it with a side of sour cream.

Bake at 350 until warmed through and bubbly.  I froze mine before baking.

IMG_6125 IMG_6126 IMG_6127 IMG_6128 IMG_6129 IMG_6131 IMG_6132 IMG_6134 IMG_6135 IMG_6136 IMG_6137 IMG_6138 IMG_6141 IMG_6143

4 responses to “Maureen’s Mexican Lasagne

  1. This looks delicious, if dean and you like it I am sure I will. Like all the stuff in it. I owe you guys. I have not been doing much of anything as you know, just have no energy. I wish it would come back, soon I hope, especially with holidays and all. Would not be surprised if I go back to work soon. Thanks so much for all your planning ahead and cooking too. I appreciate it and so does Karl. I need to teach him how to do this as well. Hugs!!!! Many hugs!!!!

    • Happy we could help. Cooking ahead like this was self preservation really, I knew we’d be on our own if I had surgery as there is no one near by to help. Cooking different types of lasagnes ahead was not too bad…instead of making one giant lasagne with one batch of stuff I just made several smaller ones in loaf pans…perfect for two-three people.

  2. It was a good you did, seeing I am useless right now. Good idea to make one meal size on them, no waste then. I need to do this too for sure. Thanks again, looking forward to it tonight although not sure which one I will get right now. Will be a surprise which one kvp is doing

Leave a Reply

