Maureen’s Mini Fritatas

I have a very generous student in my class this year that brings me fresh eggs 2 dozen at a time on a regular basis. I love having fresh eggs and thought that since I had seen various recipes online for making mini fritatas in muffin tins I thought I’d give it a try and then freeze them for easy meals later on.  It worked out GREAT!  We often will thaw one of these and then heat in the microwave and put it on an English muffin for a quick, easy breakfast sandwich.  The great part is that you really can use whatever you have on hand.  All ingredient amounts are to taste. I plan on trying this again with leftover chopped ham in the future. Here is what I did the last time I made these. I forgot to take pictures as I went along but I did take 2 photos of the finished product.

12 eggs, whisked

milk or half and half

4 cooked breakfast sausage patties, chopped

Green peppers, chopped

Red peppers, chopped

Scallions, chopped

Shredded cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Spray or grease a regular-sized muffin pan.

In a large bowl, beat eggs well.  Beat in the milk.  Stir in remaining ingredients.

Spoon into prepared pan, filling cups almost to the top.

Bake for 10 minutes at 400 degrees F then reduce oven heat to 350 degrees F and bake for 25-30 minutes, or until centers are set. This recipe made 18 decent sized fritatas.

10575862_10204277599113082_1547901195_o 20141005_113622
Leave a Reply

